Slow Burn (Power Yoga)


This class is taught by:

Dave Wank

Dave began his yoga practice in 2006 as a way to supplement training for ultra endurance running events. He soon realized that the practice was so much more than a means to cross train. Yoga offered a complete mind/body maintenance tool that was perfect for repairing the inflexibility and muscle imbalance that ultra running had caused.
 
Dave enjoys many forms of yoga including Ashtanga, Vinyasa, Anusara, Forrest, and Jivamukti. His classes are light-hearted but challenging with an emphasis on strength and alignment. He received his 200-hour teaching certificate in 2012 through Marni Task’s Jivasara Training and holds a Master’s Degree in Education from Kent State University.
Slow Burn matches the intensity of traditional Power Yoga, but focuses on long holds and slower, steadier movements between poses. Emphasis is given to alignment, body awareness and breath in this 60-minute flow. These sessions will challenge your strength, increasing both physical and mental flexibility. Cultivate mindful transitions, controlled fluidity and learn to move slow and find stillness. Be prepared to break a sweat as the studio is set at 90 degrees. Bring a towel and water bottle in with you, both of which we have available for sale at the studio.
*The heat is not for everyone and can be overwhelming at times/upon your first visit. Listen to your body! Exit the class at any time if need be and a desk yogi will be there if you need anything.

Suitable for all levels: some prior experience recommended but not mandatory. / Balancing classes: Yin Yoga, Restorative Yoga, Gentle Yoga

Upcoming classes:

  • Thu Jun 29 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Dave Wank
    at Third Street
  • Thu Jul 06 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Dave Wank
    at Third Street
  • Thu Jul 13 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Dave Wank
    at Third Street
  • Thu Jul 20 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Dave Wank
    at Third Street
  • Thu Jul 27 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Dave Wank
    at Third Street
  • Thu Aug 03 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Dave Wank
    at Third Street
  • Thu Aug 10 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Dave Wank
    at Third Street
  • Thu Aug 17 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Dave Wank
    at Third Street
  • Thu Aug 24 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Dave Wank
    at Third Street
  • Thu Aug 31 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Dave Wank
    at Third Street
  • Thu Sep 07 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Dave Wank
    at Third Street
  • Thu Sep 14 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Dave Wank
    at Third Street
  • Thu Sep 21 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Dave Wank
    at Third Street
  • Thu Sep 28 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Dave Wank
    at Third Street
  • Thu Oct 05 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Dave Wank
    at Third Street
  • Thu Oct 12 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Dave Wank
    at Third Street
  • Thu Oct 19 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Dave Wank
    at Third Street